Decoder issues with Coaching Stock.

ModelHawk216

I have a Hornby Railmaster set-up with an Elink controller which I love using.

I have a Revolution Trains OO-SGMIS-003 Inspection Saloon 975025 "Caroline" which I fitted with a ESU 59029 LokPilot 5 Basic Decorder and all the lighting functions worked perfectly. But then I noticed they did not operate.

Also the lighting functions are now not working on my Bachmann 39-737DC BR Mk2F DBSO Network Rail which was on the layout also.

Occasionally I get short circuits, due to derailments etc, but usually everything still works when I correct the issue.

I was wondering if anyone in the past has had this issue and can give me advise and help.

I have tried reprogramming them but to no avail. It seems odd to me that if there was an electrical issue of sorts, why did it affect only these two coaches. My Bachmann DRS DVT with DCC lighting was not affected and still works perfectly.

May I in advance thank anyone who replies to my posting. Thank You.

It is likely the derail short has reset the decoders back to default address 3, so try it on that address and see if it responds.

You say you have tried reprogramming them without success. I suggest you reset the decoder first then try to readdress it. Check your decoder spec sheet / paperwork to find out what the reset value is and if it applies to CV8 the normal reset CV.

Try factory resetting the errant decoders by writing 8 to CV8 on the programming track. This is potentially opening a 'can of worms', but despite what others might say, 'short circuits' can corrupt decoders. I speak from personal experience. It is a lottery as to which decoders may or may not be affected by this issue.